University of Georgia School of Social Work 2020-2021 Honor's Day Award Recipients

<u>Alumni</u>

James "Jim" Dodd Distinguished Alumni Award Mamie Harper, BSW '09 Executive Director, Carrie's Closet

BSW Program

Elizabeth Reed Stewart *Presidential Award of Excellence*

> **Ellen Lopez** Blue Key Honor Society

Elkana Alexandre BSW Student of the Year

Mary Caplan BSW Teacher of the Year

MSW Programs

Athens Campus

Travis Williams Athens MSW Generalist Student of the Year

Bat'se Ekanem Athens MSW Specialist Student of the Year

> Jennifer Elkins MSW Athens Teacher of the Year

Gwinnett Campus

MA NML Program

Andrew Flaherty MA NML Student of the Year

Tony Mallon MA NML Teacher of the Year

PhD Program

Christopher Strickland *PhD Student of the Year*

Joon Choi and Javier Boyas PhD Teachers of the Year **Kevin Linder** MSW Gwinnett 1st Year Student of the Year

David Terraso MSW Gwinnett Generalist Student of the Year

Bryan Armstead, Jr. and Lera Harben *MSW Gwinnett Specialist Year Students of the Year*

> **Lemule "Life" LaRoche** MSW Gwinnett Teacher of the Year

<u>Online</u>

Claudia Calle MSW Online Student of the Year

Llewellyn Cornelius MSW Online Teacher of the Year

Part-Time Faculty

David Meyers Part-Time Faculty Excellence Award

Bob Sleppy MA NML Part-Time Teacher of the Year

Amy Shipp MSW Athens Part-Time Teacher of the Year MSW Gwinnett Part-Time Teacher of the Year

<u>Staff</u>

Jenae Brown Bryan Staff Person of the Year (voted on by faculty and staff)

Ellen Pauloski Most Supportive Staff Person to Students (voted on by students)

Field Instruction

Mary Barrett Yancey and Team, Clarke and Oconee Counties DFCS BSW Field Instructors of the Year

Dorothy Foxx and Team, Southern Regional Hospital *Field Instructors of the Year – MSW Generalist*

Elesha Curvey, Lisa Jamison and Team, Atlanta Public Schools Field Instructor of the Year – MSW Specialization

Honorable mention to all field instructor teams in hospitals, schools and DFCS



Scholarship and Award Winners

Samantha Barnhart The Giving Hope Award

Jeniece Cordova The Helen Elizabeth Huey Scholarship Award

Luz Covarrubias The Helen Elizabeth Huey Scholarship Award

> **Erica Daniel** *Robert A. Vonk Scholarship Award*

Chiodera Drayton-Smith *The Dean Charles Stewart Award*

Maria Fernandez Latinix Social Work Award

Anna Galster Pauline Durant Lide Scholarship Award

Gabriela Lor Wilbur P. Jones Scholarship Award

Abbegale Malone A Strong Hand Up Leadership in Social Justice Award

Haeun Paik Joe and Diane Perno Scholarship Award

Ja'Keila Scott David and Helen Rasmussen Scholarship Award

Mary Virginia Smith Sue Stephenson Single Parent Support Fund

Johanna Weller-Fahy Heather Christina Wright Memorial Graduate Scholarship Award

Mandy Weida Kenneth Whiddon Scholarship Award

> Elizabeth Zezulka-Byers Memorial Scholarship Award